Categories
Letters The housing

Complaint to Torus

section one

part 2

However, I believe you were aware of the existence of this document all along, due to the fact that just days after filling out the request, Phil Campbell made allegations that my mother was verbally abusive to him on several occasions, which was not true.

Either, Phil Campbell is unable to differentiate between a person raising their voice because they are distressed, and a person raising their voice because they are being aggressive and/or abusive, or he was simply unwilling to deal with me and/or my mother, and no longer had what he believed was a valid excuse not to speak to us -denying me the support I need, because I am severely disabled, which is my mother speaking to yourselves on my behalf, knowing if he did this I was incapable if doing it myself and therefore he didn’t have to deal with us.

Regardless of which it is, Phil Campbell is not suited to his role, which I am sure brings him in to contact with many vulnerable disabled people every day. He is a danger to those people.

I do not believe it was a coincidence that Phil made these allegations just 21 days after that request was stamped by yourselves.

My mother admits that she raised her voice on the phone, but it was because she was distressed by having to deal with Phil Campbell, we both were (and I’m going to go into why later in this complaint).

As for the incident he says occurred in March, it didn’t happen at all. Me and my mother have never screamed Phil’s name out in the reception, why would we when we had been asking for anybody else to deal with instead? We had made it clear that we needed another point of contact. We literally wanted nothing to do with this man, as evidenced by your letter, where you say he will still be dealing with us.

There was no CCTV of this incident. And, I am sure if it had indeed happened, we would have been asked to leave the office, a record of the event would have been officially made by the staff who witnessed it, and Phil would have refused to deal with us then, as it was blatant, and had been for a long time, that he was looking for any excuse not to deal with us.

You state in this letter that I would still be able to contact you, but I was not able to contact you, as I am severely disabled, and part of my disability is that I have severe communication difficulties. Even if this wasn’t the case with my communication difficulties, I could not have dealt with Phil Campbell myself as he was discriminating against me because of my disability, which was terribly distressing for both me and my mother.

You also stated that I would need to arrange for another family member or friend to help me if I needed to come into the office. I have nobody else. You were aware of this. You asked me several times who I had to support me before I moved into this flat and after, and we told you nobody. I believe I would never have been moved into this flat if I had other people to support me. I believe you saw two vulnerable, disabled women and decided to take advantage of the situation, and put me here in this flat you knew was an awful unsuitable place, knowing that we had nobody to help us, and so I would be stuck here in this flat you were unable to rent to anybody else.

If during this six months, say my boiler had stopped working, I would have had no choice but to go without heating or hot water for however long it took me to feel up to contacting yourselves, and if I had then struggled to communicate with your staff in a way your staff felt was “appropriate” I might have just been hung up on, and had to go however long it was before I felt up to calling again. I do not mean hours to days, which would have been bad enough, I mean weeks to months.

You put me in a very dangerous situation, because you sided with a man in a position of power and authority over me with very little evidence to back him up, who was making false, malicious claims about me and my mother because he dislikes mentally disabled people, and in doing so you contributed to his discrimination and abuse of me, and put me in a very dangerous situation where I was cut off from you for six months.

Leave a comment