Categories
Letters The housing

Complaint to Torus

section one

part 3

written in 2022

From very early on in my tenancy, I notified you that I was being discriminated against by Phil Campbell, because I am mentally disabled, and that he also belittled my disability, as well as being generally unprofessional.

Every time I reported this I was told I was not being discriminated against, and that I would not be provided with an alternative point of contact as Phil was the tenancy officer for my flat, which was very distressing.

Suspecting that discrimination and abuse on the level I was experiencing it could not be hidden, I put in a subject access request and got back evidence of what I had been telling you all along, which was that Phil had been discriminating against me since my flat viewing. I believe this evidence is a very small fraction of the discrimination I was being subjected to by Phil within your office walls. If Phil felt safe to put his discrimination in emails, which he did, what did he feel safe to verbally say knowing that there would be no permanent record?

I don’t see how you were not aware of this behaviour. Either you didn’t care, or you made no attempt to investigate.

Therefore, you as an organisation have not only discriminated against me, but have allowed me to be abused by a person in authority, because I am vulnerable.

If I was in a wheelchair and I reported disability discrimination, would it have been taken more seriously?

How about if I was black, and reported a racist housing officer?

I don’t want answers these questions, they are for you as an organisation to examine?

You will find no matter how you answer these questions you as an organisation are in the wrong.

If you wouldn’t have taken these other examples seriously, then you are knowingly allowing your staff to abuse all vulnerable people.

And if you would have taken these other examples seriously, as an organisation you are saying you too do not believe the mentally disabled should be treated with respect, or given appropriate rights to disability support, and disability suitable accommodation, and that it is fine for your staff to abuse and mock us.

It is obvious that Phil himself was aware that his behaviour was unacceptable, as he tried twice to avoid sending me the information that I requested via my subject access request.

Personally, I feel his discrimination of me is criminal, in and of itself. Isn’t disability discrimination illegal?

However, it is my legal right to access my data, isn’t willingly attempting to deny me my legal rights a crime?

So what is trying to deny me my legal rights to cover up discrimination?

If I took this and the evidence I have to say a solicitor, what would they make of it do you think?

In my first subject access request, I asked for everything you held on me.

What Phil sent me was just letters I had handed into yourselves.

Therefore, I was forced to send in a second request listing specifically what I was after.

Phil then sent an email complaining that I had been given what I requested within the timescale stated to somebody (information redacted – why wasn’t I sent this persons emails about me? Is it because you still haven’t actually provided me with everything as I requested? If you haven’t why? I am the subject of these emails, so I am entitled to them. What are you hiding? If I got a solicitor to send you a DSAR asking for everything you hold on me, would I actually get it this time? – I would like everything you hold on me as it is my right under the subject access request laws. Everything. Absolutely everything. this is a data subject access request for everything you hold on me. And I would like somebody other than Phil Campbell, or anybody named in this complaint, meaning an impartial third party to deal with it.)

This is a lie.

Therefore, Phil is a liar.

This email seems to be a request from Phil to ignore as he puts it “what he finds excessive to say the least,” as though his opinion matters in this case. The law states I can request it. Therefore it is not excessive. However, it has been proven that it was not excessive because I got what I expected – evidence of Phil’s discrimination, belittling, and unprofessionalism.

This email is proof that Phil is unprofessional. It is it is his job to deal with DSARs, and I expect to do so without complaining about it and trying to get out of it.

Phil knew I was going to get proof of what I had been saying all along about him, and he tried to prevent that happening.

Leave a comment