Categories
Uncategorized

My tenancy review meeting


Part 11

Disability discrimination

By the time my first tenancy review meeting happened, I had reported both the noise next door and upstairs, as well as the impact that it was having on my disability on several dozen occasions.

When I reported the noise next door to Phil, he was adamant they had never had any other complaints about that property, which we now know was a lie, because the man who lives next door to me on the other side, has since informed me that he has been complaining about the noise from my next door neighbours since before I even lived there.

When I reported the man upstairs, Phil said, “Oh, so he’s noisy now as well is he?” As though we were lying.

Due to the fact that instead of improving, as we had expected it to, mu disability related health was deteriorating, I took the opportunity to explain in great detail how the noise was impacting me due to my disabilities.

I talked about-

  • How it was triggering both my BPD episode and seizures.
  • Making general living and everyday tasks difficult for me due to it exacerbating the symptoms of both my BPD and seizures.
  • That I am on antipsychotics which are major sedatives, so if I can’t sleep during the night, I have choice but to sleep during the day or risk having a serious accident and or passing out.
  • That my sleeping pattern is important to control both my BPD and seizures and the noise was already messing it up.

Phil once again went away and wrote about this conversation in a manner that made me sound, as he had put it earlier that same day “dramatic and demanding,” rather than disabled and requesting reasonable disability support.

Like with the “gluten intolerant” comment, he changed what I actually said to something entirely different.

He wrote that what I had said to him was that “I could not settle in the flat and wanted peace and quiet.”

Then he admits that I won’t get peace and quiet there, as the flats I live in are known for anti-social behaviour.

This is also an admission that they had other tenants complaining about the noise.

And that they knew those flats were not suitable for a person with my disabilities when they offered me it, knowing I was in band a on property pool, so could not refuse it.

This note is a perfect example of why a person in a position of power and authority belittling a disabled person disability when that disabled person is dependent on them for disability support is dangerous to a life-threatening level.

Yet every time we tried to report Phils discrimination against me to torus, we were told that he was not discriminating against me, even though there was written proof that he was in the emails and file notes he was writing.

Leave a comment