Categories
Uncategorized

My tenancy review meeting


Part 13

More disability discrimination

Due to my communication issues, we made everyone at Torus, including Phil, aware, from the very beginning, that until my health improved, my mum would be dealing with torus for me, at least most of the time.

Yet, Phil still refused to deal with her, insisting that he could not speak to her on my behalf even with my permission because I was the tenant.

Every time he said this, she would explain how I struggle and so can become upset and start to cry and shout. He told her if I became upset while speaking to him, even though it’s a symptom of my disability, and Torus were forcing me to live in a flat that was both exacerbating and triggering that disability, he would not deal with me, because he would consider my distress to be abuse against him.

Honestly, I think Phil just did not what to deal with anybody, or do his job at all.

He once pocket dialled my mum while complaining to other torus staff members that he wanted to go home.

Him not want to deal with anyone or do his job was fine with us if it meant we got someone else to help us, as we had requested several dozen times to have another member of staff to deal with, as Phils disability discrimination was not only distressing but a risk to my safety, but every time we were told Phil was my housing officer, and he wasn’t discriminating against me, so I wouldn’t be given another point of contact.

We couldn’t have been more clear to Torus that we wanted nothing to do with Phil, and yet, just three weeks after I signed an official document giving my mum permission to deal with Torus on my behalf, which is likely the next time we contacted Phil, he made a complaint against her, lying about two things that never happened.

The first was that she had been abusive to him. I believe he was referring to the phone call that happened on the day he pocket dialled us, where she was distressed due to him discriminating against me.

The second was that we had visited the clubmoore office and just stood there screaming his name in the middle of waiting area.

This obviously didn’t happen, and I’m sure if it had we would have been asked to leave, and Phil would have jumped on the opportunity not to deal with us right there and then.

By doing this, Phil left me completely cut off from Torus, as they didn’t just say she couldn’t contact Phil, they told her she couldn’t deal with Torus at all even to request repairs etc.

And I was too ill to do it myself.

Leave a comment