Categories
Autobiographical Letters The housing

Ways in which it was obvious my flat was not suitable for me part 1 Its a perfect place to hang yourself

Despite housing options being adamant that they would not take my disabilities into consideration when rehousing me, which they didn’t, they did inform LMH that I had recently been sectioned for a failed suicide attempt.

I also told them this, at the viewing.

Yet, there are several places both inside my flat and in the communal area, that are perfect places to hang yourself from.

1. The stairs in the communal hallway.

The staircase in the communal hallway has a metal banister, and no mesh guard on the first floor. This means that unlike a wooden banister, that you would have in a normal home, it wont break under the weight of an adult, and because there’s no guard rail you can jump over the banister, possibly snapping your neck in the process of hanging yourself. However, there is a bend in the staircase in between the ground floor and first floor that is high enough for five foot me to hang myself from.

 

2. The closing hinge on my front door

The is a reason psychiatric hospitals do not have those v shaped hinges at the top of doors that make sure the door closes behind you, which the one on my front door doesn’t even do, so it is useless, unless of course you want to hang yourself from it, which bring us full circle as to why these types of hospitals don’t have them, they are perfect to hang yourself from.

In fact, I knew of a person who successfully hung themselves from one of these before I was even sectioned the first time.

3.The heated towel rail in the bathroom.

4. The weird square handle on my cupboard door in the hallway.

Leave a comment