Categories
Autobiographical

The Fall From The Penthouse

Charlie’s message was both bizarre and came out of the blue.

It shocked me, but it never made me question the decision I had already made.

I miss you.

She was never coming back to university, so she would miss me regardless of whether, or not, her message worked.

We all miss you.

Carole and fee could never stand me. And even if Amy and May missed me, it wasn’t me they actually missed, it was playing with me like a doll.

I’m worried about you.
We’re all worried about you.
I think there might be something wrong with you.
We all think there might be something wrong with you.

What was wrong with me in their opinion, that I wasn’t a money obsessed, racist, who looked down on other people, and killed animals for fun?

If so, I was fine with having something wrong with me.

I think you might need help.
We all think you might need help.

Why did I need help in their opinion, was it because I stopped allowing them to play with me like a toy, while also treating me like something they stepped in, or was it that I confronted them about how they treated other people?

Either way, I was better off without help that would make me either similar, or submissive, to them.

I knew why Charlie had sent me the message. The members of the penthouse crew wanted to make up, so that things could, “get back to normal.”

I wasn’t pushed.
I was even offered a helping hand off the ledge and back inside.
I jumped.
I chose to jump.

Even knowing where I landed, and how it effected both me and my life, I don’t regret that decision.

Leave a comment