Categories
Autobiographical

The Princess And The Poorper

“What do you mean they’re looking for a new place to live next year, its not even easter?”

“Their landlord already has new tenants lined up, and they only told him they won’t be renewing their lease last week. They found their current place this time last year. This is the time of year you need to start looking for a new place to live if you’re a student and you want to rent privately. If they leave it any longer, they’re going to either end up back in halls, or be forced to take a gap year,” S, who was a second year, so had several sets of friends who lived in privately rented student accommodation, explained. “Have you decided what you’re going to do for accommodation next year yet? If not, you need to.”

“I think I might be moving in with Amy. Ill speak to her about it,” I reassured him.

It had been Amy who suggested that me, her, and Charlie, move in together during our second year, and though Charlie had already gone, Amy hadn’t said anything to me about her plans changing. So, when I saw her walking towards her room, on my way back from S’s room, I took the opportunity to mention it to her.

“S says we need to start looking for a place to rent next year now, if were going to move in together,” I informed her, being very careful not to imply anything in regards to her plans.

For a split second her face dropped. Then she laughed at me, as though I was stupid, “Do you still think me and you are moving in together?”

It was her reaction, rather than what she said, that caught me off guard. What I wanted to say was that she hadn’t given me any indication that her plans had changed, and that’s why I mentioned it to her, but instead I found myself stammering, “ I know Charlies gone-“

She cut me off, her expression turning serious, almost hard, and disgusted at the thought even, “Rachel, stop. Don’t grovel. Don’t, embarrass yourself. It’s got nothing to do with Charlie leaving. It’s you. I can’t move in with you. You’re poor. What happens to me if you can’t pay your part of the rent?”

I didn’t answer. I never even tried to answer. There was so much I could have responded with. There was so much I should have responded with. Instead, I just stood there, like the idiot she clearly though I was, stunned and staring at her, feeling like I had been slapped in the face emotionally.

“I’m moving in with Hannah and Johnny. I trust them,” She smirked. Then she entered her room, leaving me in the corridor alone, to gather my thoughts and emotions.

I don’t remember going back to my room, sitting down at my desk, or even how long I sat there staring at the wall, before I picked up the pen and note pad and began to write-

Amy, you have definitely made the right decision, but not for you, Hannah, or even Johnny, rather you have made the right decision for me. You see, I paid my rent in full last term and this term myself at the start of those terms. You never paid your rent in full yourself last term. You had to ask your parents to help you at the very last minute. You have not yet paid your rent in full this term. I imagine you will ask your parents to help you again at the last minute. Yes, I am poor. That means if you didn’t pay your part of the rent, and your parents decided not to pay it, I would be in a lot of trouble financially, as I can’t afford to pay for you just because you can’t manage your own money, and don’t know how to be a responsible adult. Thank you. You have done me a huge favour. You have also taught me a great lesson. You were right, I was an idiot, because it never occurred to me that I couldn’t trust you, simply because I believed you were my friend, I had to have you show me that I couldn’t trust you, and that you are not,

Rachel.

I do remember that I stared at those note pad pages laid out in front of me, that I had only written on one side of, for a very long time before I scooped them up, walked to Amy’s room, and stuck each of them neatly on her door in order so that everybody could read them.

Leave a comment