Categories
Uncategorized

My tenancy review meeting


Part 6
Note B

Discounting disabled peoples symptoms and lived experiences is discrimination by itself, as is belittle somebody’s symptoms and illness.

In this case though, its much more dangerous, because I was relying on the person who was doing it to me for disability support.

Belittling and discrediting a disability in my case is saying things like-

“A little bit of depression and anxiety.”

Or

“We all suffer from x y z.”

Instead of accepting I have borderline personality disorder, and that I am disabled by it, and how I am disabled by it.

Or changing things to make it sound less serious, such as –

“Wheat intolerant”

Instead of acknowledging the long list of foods I can’t eat, and that if I do eat them I am at risk of my bowel rupturing.

Or comparing suicidal pseudo psychos to a time when well people feel normally overwhelmed, to a normal level, by an appropriate thing.

Or comparing dissociation to a time when things were “a bit of a blur.”

Its more serious when a person in a position of power and authority does this to you, because you then don not get the necessary and appropriate help and support for your disability.

Which I obviously have not.

Leave a comment